The community portal site for Downham Market since 2007

Town Council Seats Uncontested Ahead of May Elections

Parish and town council candidates for election were announced today, following the borough council candidates yesterday. All twenty Downham Market Town Council seats in all four wards were up for re-election.

All four of the wards which make up Downham Market town council were ‘uncontested’, meaning that the number of candidates who put themselves forward was fewer than, or the exact number of, seats available in that ward. Each ward on the town council has 5 seats available and all but Downham Old Town had exactly five people stand (Old Town had four candidates stand for election).

All those candidates who put themselves forward are now elected to be councillors on the town council without going to a public ballot. The ballot for borough councillors will still go ahead on 4th May.

It is fairly common for parish or town councils to be populated with councillors this way. Only 8 out of the 100 wards in West Norfolk up for election were contested, those 8 will go to a public ballot while the other 92 wards are now elected.

Town councils are responsible for services such as management of town and village centres, litter, verges, cemeteries, parks, ponds, allotments, war memorials and community halls. They are funded by a ‘precept’ which they set and forms part of the local council tax bill.

The remaining seat in the Downham Old Town ward will likely be filled by a process called co-option, where the council accepts applications and decides amongst themselves who to elect onto the council. Ten members of the public can apply to the borough council to re-run an election process for the seat.

The councillors elected to Downham Market Town Council are:

Downham Old Town ward

Michael Lane

Christopher Perkin

Gemma Marie Sullivan

Jackie Westrop

East Downham ward

Charis Emily Brewer

Ali Buxton

Anne Marsay

Charlie Pyatt

Eve Ramy Tawfick

North Downham ward

Frank Daymond

Anne Maria Incorvaia

Justin Lewis

Betty Gladys Moyses

Barrie Wiles

South Downham ward

John William Doyle

Daniel Andrew Jordan

Tony Richard John Leach

Valerie Elizabeth Leivers

Steve Moyses



Unlike the other ‘local’ papers which are owned by big businesses, downhamweb has always been owned and run by local people in Downham Market. Our reporting will always be free without paywalls, independent from advertisers and run for the benefit of the community. 

Please consider supporting downhamweb to help us to keep providing this service to the community. If you can, please donate or set up a monthly contribution.