The community portal site for Downham Market since 2007

The Downham Market Mayor Making Ceremony

Councillor David Sharman has been voted as Mayor of Downham Market for 2013/14.

The voting was conducted by a panel of councillors at the council offices in Downham Market last night. Cllr Robin Pegg humbly stepped down but not until he shared some heart warming words outlining his thanks to the councillors and his wife for all the support and encouragement that he has seen during his time as Mayor. He also proceeded to thank Cllr David Sharman and the Town Clerk Mrs. Jean Markwell for all their hard work and support.

Our New Mayor and Mayoress
Our New Mayor and Mayoress

The newly elected Mayor, Cllr David Sharman had just a few encouraging words of his own. He began by giving thanks to the other councillors for their votes, then congratulating Cllr Pegg on an excellent job and gave praise to his achievements. The Mayor then ended by saying that with unity within the council and a good relationship with the public they can achieve great things within the Town.

The Mayor And His Deputy
The Mayor And His Deputy

A new Deputy Mayor was also elected, the position went to a vote after Cllrs John Doyle and Patrick Neat were both formally nominated. Once the votes were counted it was Cllr John Doyle  that came out on top.

On behalf of everyone, downhamweb would like to wish our new Mayor and his Deputy all the best and look forward to a year of progression and success for Downham Market.




Unlike the other ‘local’ papers which are owned by big businesses, downhamweb has always been owned and run by local people in Downham Market. Our reporting will always be free without paywalls, independent from advertisers and run for the benefit of the community. 

Please consider supporting downhamweb to help us to keep providing this service to the community. If you can, please donate or set up a monthly contribution.

Mayor Councillor David Sharman